Seven Deadly Sins

Seven Deadly Sins were classified at the end of the sixth century by Pope Gregory the Great. He believed every sin committed by man could be classified by seven words.

What are the Seven Deadly Sins

"During the last few years we have been putting a mild label on sin. We've called it error, negative action and inerrant fault. But it is high time that we put a POISON label back on the poison bottle and not be afraid to be as plain as the Bible is about the tragic consequences of sin" (Graham Billy, The Seven Deadly Sins p. 9).

In a day when we have become lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God (2 Timothy 3:1-3), the seven deadly sins confront our complacency and remind us of our need for holy living (1 Peter 1:13-17).

1. Pride

"Pride goes before a fall" (Proverbs 16:18). It seems that pride is the mental and moral condition that precedes almost all other sins.

It is interesting that God actually resists the pridefull person but gives grace to the the humble (James 4:6b).

2. Anger

James writes, "Let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath; for the wrath of man does not produce the righteousness of God" (James 1:19b). Anger leads to violence, assault and murder. Cain is the obvious example.

3. Envy

Evny and jealousy are inherent in our very nature (James 4:5b). Envy seeks after that which is not ours.It will cheat, lie and steal to get it. Envy springs from the unregenerate human heart as naturally as weeds grow in a flower garden.

4. Impurity

Impurity is the opposite of holy living. Impurity is all about self-gratification regardless. We cannot underestimate the power of impurity - Samson toyed with it. King David came under it subtle spell. Both man paid the price for the sin of impurity.

5. Gluttony

Gluttony is a sin most of us commit but few of us mention. Gluttony rides the wave of build bigger...take it easier...drink more...enjoy life more. Its philosophy is: "Take care of number one at all costs!"

6. Slothfulness

Slothfulness is laziness - both physical and spiritual.

7. Avarice

Avarice is greed. People driven by greed have robbed, assaulted, attacked, embezzled, slandered and murdered to get what they wanted.

The Seven Deadly Sins confront us and challenge us in a world that seeks pleasure rather than God. And yet, it is God who is able to deliver us from the grip of these sins (John 8:36).

Creating Free Articles And Website Content - Free Articles Directory

Designed by with Adobe Dreamweaver

Homepage | Free Business Articles | Free Computer Articles | Free Educational Articles | Free Entertainment Articles
Free Health Articles | Free Hobbies Articles | Free Internet Articles | Free Religious Articles
Free Technology Articles | Free Travel Articles | Free Weight Loss Articles
Free Writing Articles | Free Website Design Software
Free Website Keyword Tools | Terms of Use

Return to top